Ba Gua Feng Shui Essentials (3) – Ba Gua House [Feng Shui Master Class 10]

Welcome back to the last lesson of the Ba Gua Feng Shui essentials series.  In the last two lessons we have learnt the nature of the eight Xing-yaos (星曜) and how to find out the directions of your personal Xing-yaos.  We also knew how to maximize the use of the lucky Xing-yaos.  This time we shall look at the Xing-yao locations in different houses.

Ba Gua Feng Shui, and most other Feng Shui theories, examine the relationship between people and the living space.  If there are eight Xing-yaos belonging to you personally, there should also be eight Xing-yaos in different directions of the house.  Our aim is not only to find out your lucky directions and make use of them (which we learnt in last week’s lesson), but also to match your own Xing-yao locations with those of your house.  It is just like buying a car, if you enjoy the excitement of speed, you would look for a racing car.  If we put you in a family car, you won’t feel like driving it.

Once again, let me clarify the difference between the Ba Gua Feng Shui being taught here and what most other Feng Shui web sites tell you.  The authentic Chinese Ba Gua Feng Shui theory classify people and houses in eight types.  The reason is simple, there are only eight Guas (卦) in the universe (Ba Gua means eight Guas in Chinese, Ba means eight).  If you have read I-ching (易經), the Chinese philosophy book which is also the origin of most Feng Shui and Chinese astrology systems, you would know that there are only eight Guas and we categorize everything in the universe into eight types.


Ba Gua Feng Shui House

Now let’s begin our last lesson of the Ba Gua Feng Shui essentials.  To refresh your memory, here are the eight Xing-yaos you need to know and memorize:

The four lucky Xing-yaos are:

  • Sheng-chi (生氣)
  • Yien-nian (延年)
  • Tien-yi (天醫)
  • Fu-wei (伏位)

The four unlucky Xing-yaos are:

  • Jue-ming (絕命)
  • Wu-guei (五鬼)
  • Liu-sha (六煞)
  • Wuo-hai (禍害)

You may refer to the first Ba Gua Feng Shui lesson for detailed explanation of each Xing-yao and how to use them.  They are not universal in their disposition, in fact each person has his/her own Xing-yao map which has the eight Xing-yaos in eight different directions.  In the second Ba Gua Feng Shui lesson we have seen there whereabouts for eight different types of people.  Some students said that it is not easy to remember them, so this time I reproduced the information in graphical form:

Qian Xing-yao map

Gen Xing-yao map

Kun Xing-yao mapDui Xing-yao mapKan Xing-yao mapZhen Xing-yao mapXun Xing-yao mapLi Xing-yao map

In the last lesson we learnt that the Western group Guas are Qian, Gen, Kun and Dui while the Eastern group Guas are Kan, Zhen, Xun and Li.  Do you know why they are grouped in this way, and how we could use this Eastern/Western distinction to create good Ba Gua Feng Shui?

Continue reading “Ba Gua Feng Shui Essentials (3) – Ba Gua House [Feng Shui Master Class 10]”